Choxie Key Lime Pie Truffle Bar

January 18, 2008 at 8:00 am Leave a comment

Choxie is Target’s house brand of chocolate. While Target purports to sell stylish clothes for less, Choxie promises fancy chocolate for cheap. The back of the box sums up their philosophy nicely: “crafted with the finest and purest ingredients, it’s intended for the most sophisticated of chocolate palates. we suggest you keep it hidden from mere amateurs.” Sorry, Choxie, but you can’t fool me with your fake trendiness and refusal to use capital letters. But I do like the bright and vaguely retro packaging. Great color scheme!

The key lime pie truffle bar is “key lime-flavored white chocolate and graham biscotti bits enrobed in dark chocolate.” What I got was a way too sweet bar with a strong limey finish. I swear I tasted grains of sugar in the filling along with the scattered chunks of graham cracker.

The graham “biscotti” (I guess that’s fancier-sounding than graham cracker) bits were just crumbs. I think the bar could have benefited from slightly larger bits of the graham to make the texture more interesting and to balance out the sweet white chocolate.

The filling was too sugary, and the dark chocolate enrobing was too bland or too weak to balance it out. My bar had bloomed, which was unfortunate, and it gave the chocolate a greasy feel and an unappetizing look (though bloomed chocolate is perfectly safe to eat). The dark chocolate didn’t have a great melt – it was nowhere near as smooth or as creamy as the Dagoba and Theo bars – and the snap was rather weak and brittle.

Some of my friends liked the flavor combination (many of them thought it was lemon) but found fault with the texture. Others were not fans of the citrus addition and thought it was too weird. It did fairly well in the taste ratings: 9th place out of 13 with a score 3.17/5, placing it higher than many fancier, more expensive bars. From me, an O. I may have been too hard on Choxie because I was tasting it alongside other, nicer bars, so I haven’t completely written off the brand yet. I’d like to try some of their other truffle bars and see if they can redeem themselves.

Entry filed under: chocolate, Choxie, cookie, O, received as gift, review, white chocolate. Tags: .

Project Runway Candy Contest Entries 3400 Phinney Bread and Chocolate

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Welcome to ZOMG, Candy!

Taste tests and reviews of sugary treats and all things sweet.

ZOMG, Candy! Photos

Photos at Flickr



I'm flattered if you want to use my photos, but please use the Contact form to get my permission first. Because that's what a decent human being would do.

What is the ZOMG! Rating System?

Get ZOMG, Candy! Updates by Email!

Categories

January 2008
S M T W T F S
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Feeds